Archive for March, 2011

Indoor team title for So Cal Track Club

Posted in Uncategorized on March 7, 2011 by socaltrackclub

Barry Givens en route to his gold medal in the M35 3,000 meters.

For the sixth time in the seven years that a team championship has been contested at the USA Track and Field Indoor Masters Championships, So Cal Track Club took home the title. Here are the scores for the top teams following three days of competition at the Albuquerque Convention Center:

1 So Cal Track Club 663
2 TNT International Racing Club 502
3 Houston Elite Track and Field 336
4 Atlanta Track Club 259
5 Mass Velocity Track Club 225
6 Southern California Striders  200
More details and hopefully, photos to follow. It appears our top individual scorer was Leland McPhie, who won seven events in the M95-99 age group. Nolan Shaheed won the M60 division of the 3000 meters, mile and 800 meters, followed in the final two events by teammate David Parke.

Lisa Valle also was a triple champion, running away on her hometown track in the W40 800 meters, mile and 3000.

Barry Givens won the M35 flight of the mile and 3000 and took bronze in the 800.

Alfy Pettes set an American record in the M35 60 meters.

Jolene Steigerwalt led teammates Kathy Frable and Darlene Backlund to a 1-2-3 sweep in the W65 3K race walk, and Jolene grabbed another gold in the 800 meters.

Greg Retzer won the M40 superweight to go with his silvers in the weight throw and shot put.

There were many other individual medalists, including several multiple medalists.

So Cal sealed the deal with a potent presence in the final day’s final event, the 4-by-400 relay, as multiple teams earned medals.

Congratulations to Mark Cleary and all of us who competed — at 5,280 feet above sea level.


So Cal Track Club battles in Albuquerque

Posted in Uncategorized on March 3, 2011 by socaltrackclub

About 50 So Cal Track Club athletes are gathering this weekend for the USATF Masters Indoor National Championships in Albuquerque, N.M.

So Cal will be looking to recapture the team title it had won for five consecutive years before slipping to second in 2010.

Follow the results at

Hope to see many of you there.